The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) created the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program to provide financial incentives to qualified Medicaid service providers, or “eligible professionals” (EPs). Its goal is to encourage the adoption, implementation and meaningful use of certified electronic health records (EHRs) in ways that improve quality, increase efficiency and promote safety. EPs may receive up to $63,750, available over six payment years. Typically, the first year’s incentive payment is $21,250. Incentives for years two through six are usually $8,500 per year. EPs can enter the program as late as 2016, with the final incentives being paid in 2021. Click below for a table outlining the incentive payment schedule over the life of the program:

Who is Eligible?

EPs eligible to receive incentives under this program include:

  • Physicians
  • Optometrists
  • Dentists
  • Nurse Practitioners
  • Certified Nurse Midwives
  • Physician Assistants (practicing in a PA-led FQHC or RHC)

EPs must meet minimum Medicaid patient volume thresholds and not be “hospital-based.” Other rules and options exist. To learn if you are eligible, click below:

What is “certified” EHR technology (CEHRT)?

In order to qualify for the Michigan Medicaid EHR Incentive Program, providers must adopt, implement or upgrade to a certified EHR technology (CEHRT). To see if your EHR is certified, please visit the ONC Certified Health IT Product List website by clicking below:

What is meaningful use (MU)?

In the first year of participation in the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program, EPs receive payment for adopting, implementing or upgrading to a certified EHR technology. To continue receiving incentive payments in years 2-6, EPs must meet a set of “meaningful use” (MU) objectives. Learn more about MU by clicking below:

What about interoperability?

In order for EPs to comply with future MU requirements, an EHR will need to communicate electronically with other health information data sources and destinations. This will be facilitated by connecting an EHR to a Qualified Data Sharing Organization and the Michigan Health Information Network (MiHIN). For more information, click below:

What support exists?

In addition to creating EHR incentives, Congress authorized the creation of Regional Extension Centers (RECs) to provide on-site technical support to help EPs achieve MU. In Michigan, these subsidized and unsubsidized services are provided by the Michigan Center for Effective Information Technology Adoption, or M-CEITA. Click below for more on M-CEITA:

Want more detailed information?

The information provided here is not sufficient to assure compliance with the Michigan Medicaid EHR Incentive Program and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) MU requirements. Please download the “Eligible Professional’s Guide to the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program 2014” for more complete information. Additional information can also be found at the two federal health information technology sites below: